NFL Recap/Preview

25 11 2009

This last Sunday and Monday were as crazy a week in the NFL as I can remember.  There was hardly a game that went down the way that everyone had expected.  Many analysts looked at this as a down week and after looking at the schedule before Sunday’s games that was my feeling as well.  Boy, were we wrong about that, where do you even start?  The fact that the Bengals lost on the last play of the game to the Raiders after they fumbled the kickoff or how about the Texans losing to the Titans who have now won four in a row, to go along with quarterback Vince Young’s personal eight game winning streak.   Maybe, you don’t like to dwell on the negatives and you want to talk about how the Colts and Saints are still unbeaten and it was not at all easy for the Colts.  I don’t know what to talk about either, but it was a great weekend.

I will say this though there is a team that won on Sunday in dramatic fashion and made me a believer and that team is the Detroit Lions.  What?  I know what you’re thinking, how could I be a believer in the Lions?  I’m not a believer in the Lions this year or probably even next year, but I believe in the guy they have at quarterback, Matthew Stafford.  I thought he might just be another Jamarcus Russell or “Jarmucus” as Tom Jackson calls him, but he’s not.  He came out and threw five touchdown passes and lead his team to victory at the end of the game.  He even threw that last touchdown with a separated shoulder now that’s tough.  You could even see him after he threw it saying it’s out, it’s out.  I am now a Stafford fan I hope he keeps playing big and that eventually the Lions will surround him with the talent necessary to win.

While Matthew Stafford impressed me I think the best team in the league to this point isn’t one of the unbeatens.  It pains me to say it, but the Minnesota Vikings thrashed the Seahawks the way they were supposed to on Sunday and nobody even batted an eyelash.  As long as Favre can keep playing at the same level for the rest of the season I wouldn’t be surprised at all to see him holding up that Lombardi Trophy.  The reason that I really like the Vikings is not their offense, which is dynamic, it’s that defense.  I think they might have the best defense in the league right now and you could argue that they have the best team on both sides of the ball.  So, you heard here first look out for the Vikings I actually see them getting home field advantage throughout the playoffs passing up everybody’s darling the Saints.

Now as for this week, it should be a good one there are a lot of good games especially the Patriots and Colts game that will be the talk of ESPN for the next few days.  We’ll also have the traditional Thanksgiving Day games featuring the Cowb0ys and the Lions.  Thanksgiving is synonymous with football whether it be watching it on TV or playing it in the backyard, no holiday says football like Thanksgiving.  So have a good one tomorrow watch and play some football and most of all eat up, I know I will.

Written by: Jesse Kunz
The halfmanhalfdog team
Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

