World Series Recap

5 11 2009

92343144CC279_Philadelphia_

As everybody knows, the New York Yankees won their baseball leading 27th World Series title last night beating the Phillies seven to three.  Fittingly the Yankees won the title to break in their new 1.5 billion dollar ballpark. Looking back at the last week and a half, there were a lot of things that I was not expecting to happen in the 2009 World Series, but a lot that I was, it was an interesting series to say the least.

I was expecting C.C. Sabathia and Cliff Lee to be the aces that they needed to be. Cliff Lee won both games he started (one against Sabathia). I expected that there was going to be a lot of home runs hit by both teams. Philadelphia hit 11 while the Yankees hit 6. I expected Derek Jeter to get hits left and right, and he did racking up 11 hits. I expected Mariano Rivera to be the dominant closer, and he was only allowing three hits in his 5.1 innings pitched. I expected guys from top to bottom on both lineups to contribute, and they did. Every started except Robinson Cano scored at least a run during the World Series. I expected the series to go at least to a game 6 which it did and I expected every game to be a close, watch every single pitch type series, which it was.

What I wasn’t expecting first off was that Ryan Howard would set a new World Series record with 13 strikeouts. I expected some, yes, but not a new record especially after he was named NLCS MVP and was lights out the first two rounds of the playoffs. I didn’t expect Chase Utley to tie the record for the most home runs in a World Series with six. Utley had two games with two home runs and was the only reason why Philly was still in the series. I expected Utley to hit, but not like that.  I wasn’t expecting Alex Rodriguez and Mark Teixeira to have mediocre performances, 2 combined home runs and 10 combined hits. I wasn’t expected Hideki Matsui to go 8 for 13 with 3 home runs and 8 RBIs.  I wasn’t expecting 6 of those runs batted in to come in game 6 alone. And I didn’t expect Matsui to be the series MVP.  I wasn’t expecting Andy Pettite to go 2-0 and Pedro go 0-2. (should have started Hamels) And last but not least I did not expect the New York Yankees to win the World Series. I picked Philly in 7.

So congrats to the Yankees! I guess you can buy championships, it just takes a huge payroll and a billion dollar new stadium. The 2010 baseball season starts in officially 151 days and will the Yankees win their 28th championship, or will some other team get it? Only time will tell but the book is now closed on the 2009 baseball season and lets gear up for spring training.

Written by: Matthew Flygare
halfmanhalfdog team

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

